South crowned White Ball Premiers
Date of Event : Tue Feb 6, 2018 10:28AM
South Caulfield were crowned 2017/18 Championship Division White Ball Premiers aafter defeating Bonbeach by 3 wickets

On a perfect day weather wise, the CSB White Ball finals were held across seven divisions on Sunday 4th February. From Championship through Division 1 to Division 6, the top two places in the white ball ladder (results of One Day and T20 matches) played off for the White Ball Premiership.

In the Championship, it was a replay of last season with South Caulfield taking on Bonbeach in what ended up being a cracker of a game. Bonbeach were sent in by South’s and that strategy paid off quickly as Bonbeach found themselves at 3/19, where Tom Smith and David Fernandez set about steading the ship before Smith (36) was out with the score at 80. Fernandez (63) continued on, only to be dismissed with the score at 7/163 and Bonnie making 8/183 from their 40 overs, Sampath Perera 4/44 leading the South attack. The total looking to be short of a competitive score against South’s on their home deck.

Dan Mueller stirred up the Bonbeach crowd by grabbing the wicket of South’s captain Luke Russell (4) in the first over, but then young Elliot Bradley (35) and Lewis Mildenhall (52) set out in pursuit of the 184 required. At 3/110, Bonbeach looked to have turned the game with Player of the Match, Tom Smith (5/27) stepping in with the ball, reducing South to 5/119, then followed another Smith wicket and run-out and it was 7/153.

Jonno Curtis and Kanishka Alvitigala celebrate the win

With 2 overs to go it was 12 balls, 12 runs, as Johnno Curtis (26*) and Kanishka Alvitigala (11*), set about finalising a win. Curtis, amongst a last over run-out chance was also dropped when a sharp catch went down, but managed 2 runs for it. In the end it was Curtis and Alvitigala getting South over the line with 2 balls to spare.

At Dendy Park in Division 1, 428 runs for the day made for an entertaining match, as Mentone batting first reached 5/233 in their 40 overs. Captain Simon Cormie (45) got the side going before Matthew Williams (58) and Player of the Match, Eben Kurtz (95) took the score from 2/90 to 3/210 when Williams was run-out. Kurtz with 11 fours and 2 sixes in his innings of 107 balls. In reply Brighton District were all out 195 in 38 overs, Dylan Blignaut (66) and Jason Oldfield (42) the best of the Dragons batters as Michael Churchill (3/44) grabbed best bowling figures of the day.

Mentone's Eben Kurtz

At North Port Oval in Division 2, South Caulfield picked up its second White Ball Premiership of the day as it reached its target in 28 overs (4/110) with President Jonathan Restarick (62*) as they quickly chased down Port Melbourne’s 109. South’s Ed Tattersall bagging 3/19 and Oliver Hills 3/30, as only Port’s Dulan Berman (40) got going after Port won the toss and elected to bat first.

In Division 3 it was a Carnegie win as they made 8/226(cc) with Tarun Grandhi (97), Carnegie defeating Mentone 118 where the Negie’s Arvind Suresh grabbed 4/28

Beaumaris 5/177 defeated Heatherton 4/174(cc) in the Division 4 final. Beauy’s Lachlan Jamieson (49*) leading the run chase with Hamish MacCorquodale (35).

In Division 5 Carnegie also with its second White Ball premiership of the day as they defeated Beaumaris. Carnegie 110 def Beaumaris 99; the Negie’s Anuj Phogat (2/7).

Carnegie's Ashwin Kotha celebrates catching Tom Garside


Whilst in Division 6, Parkdale United grabbed the White Ball premiership in a last gasp effort, with a single wicket remaining as they defeated Kingston Hawthorn. For the Pucca's, Ned Harding (49) top-scored from a team total of 9/132 after bowling out the Hawks in the 31st over, Joshua Churchward (4/15) was the chief wicket-taker.

Scorecard’s from the White Ball Finals can be found here

Last updated: Tuesday February 6, 2018 10:31AM

@CricketBayside Twitter