Omega CC CSB Women's Champion Team
Date of Event : Thu Mar 8, 2018 10:17AM

On International Women's Day, Cricket Southern Bayside is pleased to announce the Omega Cricket Club as the Champion team after finishing the T20 season on top of the ladder in the CSB's Women's competition.


CSB is delighted with the first summer season of Women's T20 cricket, proudly partnered by the Caulfield Park Bendigo Bank branch and supported by the Glen Eira council.


Aspendale, Bentleigh, Parkdale, Richmond City, East Malvern Tooronga and Omega Cricket Club's are all to be congratulated for becoming foundation teams in the Women's competition.

The teams have been rewarded for their efforts to establish a Women's side this summer with club kits from Kookaburra courtesy of an Active club grant from VicHealth for which we are very grateful.

Commencing with Masterclasses back in November 2017, progressing to a Ten10 Day in December and T20 matches throughout February, as well as the first weekend of March, the competition attracted 88 participants across the 6 teams for this inaugural season.

The competition will return in Spring 2018 with a 5-6 week season before breaking for the Christmas/School Holiday period, back again in February 2019 for a summer season.

Clubs and team are encouraged to join the competition from around the region as we develop greater opportunities for Women to play the game.

No finals are being played in this summer's T20 competition, instead a Champion team being named after finishing on top of the T20 competition.

Last Sunday in the final round Bentleigh travelled to Richmond City but were faced with an experienced line up and suffered a heavy defeat, East Malvern Tooronga were defeated by Parkdale and after defeating Aspendale.

Congratulations to Tracey Fletcher, Chris Clement, Rhiannin Bretherton and the Omega team.

Last updated: Thursday March 8, 2018 10:23AM

@CricketBayside Twitter